IIT Full Form – What Is The Full Form Of IIT

IIT Stands for Indian Institutes of Technology. You can get knowledge of Science and Technology from IIT College.

How to do IIT?

If you want to take admission in IIT Colleges, then you have to pass an Entrance Exam first. Entrance exam for admission in IIT is conducted by JEE. JEE entrance exam has two parts – JEE Mains and JEE – advance.

JEE – Mains : Mains consists of two exams. If you wanna do B.E. Or B. Tech, then you will have to give exam First and If you want to do b. Arch / B. planning then you will have to give exam second. Exam first is conducted in both online and offline mode, whereas offline mode is used for exam second.

JEE – Advance : You have to be qualified in the examination of Mains for the examination of JEE – Advance. JEE – Advance exams are conducted online. Which also includes Negative Marking.

Eligibility for IIT

  1. First of all, It is necessary to have at least 75% marks in 12th.
  2. You must not be over 25 years of age. According to the government’s fixed Reservation System, age can be relaxed for ST, SC and handicapped.
  3. You have only 3 chances to take Entrance Exam.

Establishment of IIT

The establishment of IIT Colleges began in 1946 when Sir Jogendra Singh ji considered the creation of Higher Tech Institute for Industrial Development in India. The first IIT College was established in 1950 at the Hijli Detention Camp in Kharagpur.

It was first established in 1951 under the name Indian Institute of Technology. The Indian Institute of Technology (Kharagpur) Act was passed on 15 September 1956 where IIT was declared as an institution of national importance.

IIT Colleges:

IIT College exists across the country. The total number of IIT College is 23, which is as follows

1IIT Kharagpur
2IIT Bombay
3IIT Kanpur
4IIT Madras
5IIT Delhi
6IIT Guwahati
7IIT Roorkee
8IIT Ropar
9IIT Bhubaneswar
10IIT Gandhinagar
11IIT Dharwad
12IIT Jammu
13IIT Goa
14IIT Bhilai
15IIT Hyderabad
16IIT Jodhpur
17IIT Patna
18IIT Indore
19IIT (ISM) Dhanbad
20IIT (BHU) Varanasi
21IIT Palakkad
22IIT Tirupati
23IIT Mandi

About the author


Leave a Comment