Amrita Pritam – Biography, Books, Awards And Poems

Amrita Pritam was an Indian writer and poetess who was awarded the “Jnanpith”. She has written her articles in Hindi and Punjabi language. She is also known as the first chief female poetess of the state of Punjab.

Amrita Pritam was a writer whose works have been translated into 34 languages ​​of the world. Along with this, translations have also been done in many Indian languages. His compositions include poetry collection, novel, essay, story and autobiography. Many TV serials are made on the basis of her stories and films based on novels written by Amirta Pritam. Pinjar films are based on her novel.

' Amrita Pritam ' ' Amrita Pritam pic ' ' Amrita Pritam images ' ' Amrita Pritam picture ' ' Amrita Pritam photo '

Amrita Pritam Biography

NameAmrita Kaur
Famous NameAmrita Pritam (After Marriage)
Date of Birth31 August 1919
Place of BirthGujranwala District, Punjab, India (At present this place is in Pakistan)
Mother’s NameRaj Bibi
Father’s NameKartar Singh Hitkari
Professionwriter, poetess
Notable worksPinjar (novel), Aaj Akhir Waris Shah Nu (poem)
AwardsPadma Shri, Padma Bhushan, Bharatiya Jnanpith Award, Sahitya Akademi Award
Date of Death31 October 2005 (age 86)
Place of DeathDelhi, India

Amrita Kaur was born on 31 August 1919 in Gujranwala district, Punjab. HEs father’s name was Kartar Singh Hitkari and mother’s name was Raj Bibi. Her mother was a school teacher and her father was a writer and a scholar of Braj language. Her father was also a preacher of Sikhism. Mother died when Amrita was only 11 years old, due to which she was left alone. After this Amrita and her father moved to Lahore and lived there till 1947.

At the age of 16, Amrita Kaur was married to Pritam Singh in 1935 AD. After this, Amrita Kaur changed her name to Amrita Pritam. In the year 1960, Amrita left her husband and also wrote about her attraction towards poet Sahir Ludhinvi in ​​her autobiography “Rasidi Ticket”.
After some time, She met artist and writer Imrose. Amrita Pritam spent the last 40 years of her life with Imrose. Amrita also wrote a book based on how much of her life she spent with Emroz, named Amrita Imrose: A Love Story.

Amrita Pritam Awards

1956Sahitya Akademi Award
1969Padma Shri
1982Indian Jnanpith Award
1988Bulgaria Vairov Award (by Punjab Government)
2000Centenary Honors
2004Padma Vibhushan

Amrita Pritam Novels

2Doctor Dev
3Kore Kagaz, Unchas Din
4Dharti, Sagar aur Seepian
5Rang ka Patta
6Dilli ki Galiyan
7Terahwan Suraj
9Jilavatan (1968)
10Hardatt Ka Zindaginama

Amrita Pritam Autobiography

1Black Rose (1968)
2Rasidi Ticket (1976)
3Shadows of Words (2004)

Short Stories Of Amrita Pritam

1Kahaniyan jo Kahaniyan Nahi
2Kahaniyon ke Angan mein
3Stench of Kerosene

Amrita Pritam Poetry anthologies

1Amrit Lehran (Immortal Waves) (1936)
2Jiunda Jiwan (The Exuberant Life) (1939)
3Trel Dhote Phul (1942)
4O Gitan Valia (1942)
5Badlam De Laali (1943)
6Sanjh de laali (1943)
7Lok Peera (The People’s Anguish) (1944)
8Pathar Geetey (The Pebbles) (1946)
9Punjab Di Aawaaz (1952)
10Sunehade (Messages) (1955) – Sahitya Akademi Award
11Ashoka Cheti (1957)
12Kasturi (1957)
13Nagmani (1964)
14Ik Si Anita (1964)
15Chak Nambar Chatti (1964)
16Uninja Din (49 Days) (1979)
17Kagaz Te Kanvas (1981)- Bhartiya Jnanpith
18Chuni Huyee Kavitayen
19Ek Baat

Amrita Pritam Death

Amrita Pritam gained a lot of fame for the Punjabi poem “Ajj Aakhan Waris Shah Noon“. He has a wonderful contribution to literature. On 31 December 2005, She died in sleep due to a long illness. The art of his writing made him immortal.

About the author


Leave a Comment